Inner View · Spirituality beyond Religion

That Long Wait

 

 

She waits. And waits. Will he come this evening? What if he doesn’t come? What will I do? How will I bear more waiting?

But wait a minute, what if he actually comes? Is the garland ready? Is the lamp lit? Am I ready? Even worse, will I recognize him?

And so it goes. Every evening, every night. New morning, same old waiting. Old love, a new kind of waiting.

She waits. And waits.

 

 Waiting

The song I came to sing

remains unsung to this day.

I have spent my days in stringing

and in unstringing my instrument.

 

The time has not come true,

the words have not been rightly set;

only there is the agony

of wishing in my heart…..

 

I have not seen his face,

nor have I listened to his voice;

only I have heard his gentle footsteps

from the road before my house…..

 

But the lamp has not been lit

and I cannot ask him into my house;

I live in the hope of meeting with him;

but this meeting is not yet.

~ Rabindranath Tagore

 


Image: credit

*******
Linking this with Everyday Gyaan – Anything Goes on Sunday-2

One thought on “That Long Wait

Response? Reaction? Thought? Question? Criticism? Let me know.

