Inner View · Words of The Mother and Sri Aurobindo

The Diamond in the Cave

For a long time she simply stood there, outside the cave, unsure of herself, weak in mind and heart, going over and over in her little head — should I enter this cave, or should I go back and forget all about this, what should I do, who can guide me?

What will I find there if I enter, will it all be dark and gloomy and scary, will there be some deeply hidden secret stuff that I would rather not discover, will I be able to accept whatever it is I find inside the cave?

What if I am stuck there and can’t find my way out of that darkness, who will I call upon for help to rescue me, who can I rely upon, who, who, who?

****

After what seemed to her ages, she felt she heard a very soft, almost-inaudible voice, a voice which seemed to be coming from nowhere, or perhaps from somewhere within her, a voice that seemed to be saying – “how else will you find the diamond if you don’t enter the cave?”

As if this was the cue she had been waiting for all this time…she not only found the courage to start the journey into what at first sight appeared to be a dark cave, but as she continued to go deeper and deeper and deeper, that same sweet voice coming from somewhere deep inside her also became her constant companion and the source of Light, assuring her that one day she will find the shining diamond, within.

 

 
Picture credits: Suhas Mehra
*****
Response? Reaction? Thought? Question? Criticism? Let me know.

