Personal reflections · Reminders to self · When a Picture Leads

Gratitude, in Pictures

A new post in the series When a Picture Leads

 

Let this be my way today to be conscious of the gratitude I owe to the many different things, moments and experiences, big and small. Let this be my way today to express that gratitude. Let this be my way today to remember that… 

“There is no better cure for egoism than a happy gratefulness.” (The Mother)

 

Today I am grateful…

12734136_10207316623327919_5798788275071098907_n (1)

For morning teatime.

For the moments it allows us to make all sorts of travel plans, many of which may never materialise, make plans for all sorts of garden and home updates, again most of which may never get done. For the moments it allows us to laugh and argue over some crazy ‘news’ finds on twitter, recall old jokes, and even discuss ‘isms’ of all sorts. 

But most importantly, for the luxury it allows us to experience, in silence, the moments of a comforting togetherness, moments which remind us that only that togetherness is meaningful which doesn’t take away the alone-ness you need for your self.   

 

12744481_10207316621247867_6245488346731902454_n

 

For that old pair of handy garden shears. 

Which allows me to bring nature inside the home. Which despite the rust continues to work, teaching me that it is possible to get beyond the harshness of the external climate. 

Which reminds me of the significance of cutting. Cutting the redundant stuff from my life. Within and without. Cutting the superfluous and bringing order, re-shaping that which has gone awry. 

 

12744410_10207316621767880_3387903240420015177_n

 

For the natural, breathing feel of a chattai under feet. 

Which reminds me to stay away from artificiality. From that which is faux, fake, pretense, phoney. 

 

home decor 1

 

For things we leave behind.

For they remind me of the truth of impermanence. The value of detachment. The joy of taking good care of everything, even the tiniest object, that has been put in our trust, for the time being, and the joy of knowing when to let them go.

 

Always joyfully accept what is given you by the Divine.

* * *

A self-willed man cannot be grateful―because when he gets what he wants he gives all the credit for it to his own will, and when he gets what he does not want he resents it badly and throws all the blame on whomever he considers responsible, God, man or Nature.

~ The Mother, CWM, Vol. 14, p. 155


The first three pictures taken at my present home. The last photo taken at my previous home, about nine years ago, in another continent.
To read more posts in the series, When a Picture Leads, click HERE.

Linking with ABC Wednesday, G: G is for Gratitude

Linking with the February 2016 Gratitude Circle at Vidya‘s blog. Gratitude-Circle-Vidya-Sury-Final-e1453801581346

 

 

31 thoughts on “Gratitude, in Pictures

  1. How true! Be grateful for ‘the things we leave behind’…
    *For they remind me of the truth of impermanence. The value of detachment. The joy of taking good care of everything, even the tiniest object, that has been put in our trust, for the time being, and the joy of knowing when to let them go.

    Impermanence, detachment, letting go…aren’t all these the most important lessons that will help us move ahead in life?!
    Loved your post, Beloo!

    1. Thanks Shilpa! Glad you could connect with this post.

      I am particularly happy that this last bit about ‘things we leave behind’ caught your attention. Yesterday when I was working on this post, for a little while I was unsure whether to include this thought and picture, but then as I reflected more, I realised that the post seemed incomplete without it. So it had to go in.

  2. How important it is to be grateful ‘for the things we leave behind’…
    *For they remind me of the truth of impermanence. The value of detachment. The joy of taking good care of everything, even the tiniest object, that has been put in our trust, for the time being, and the joy of knowing when to let them go.

    Impermanence, detachment, letting go…some of the most important lessons that will help us move ahead in life! Liked your post very much, Beloo! Could relate to it so well!

  3. This was lovely, the photos and the words behind them. Love how you used the idea of gratitude in this way incorporating photos to introduce your ideas. Thoughtful and beautiful.

  4. Wise words indeed Beloo.
    I am grateful for so many things that have happened particularly my three lovely daughters and four beautiful grandchildren, if and when I have to ‘detatch’ myself from them I know, that
    my soul will live on through them !
    Best wishes,

    Di.
    ABCW team.

  5. beautiful choice for this weeks letter…. a feeling to few people really recognize i think… Feeling every day makes one fill very rich, doesn’t it.

    Have a nice ABC-day / – week
    ♫ M e l d y ♫ (abc-w-team)

    1. Indeed. Forgetful beings that we are, especially in our rushed lives, it is so easy to move from one activity to another without being mindfully aware and grateful of simplest things and moments that bring us great joy, add beauty and so much richness to our lives.
      Thanks for appreciating this post, happy you liked it.

  6. Love your home decor. It’s gorgeous. I’d love to have my morning tea in that beautiful part of your home too. Agree about cutting… it is so very much needed for various things, both internal and external, from time to time!

    1. Thank you Shilpa! You are welcome to join us, anytime in the veranda, not only for morning tea but also breakfast, lunch, evening tea and beyond 🙂 To tell you the truth, this was one part of the house that really made us fall in love with it when we first saw it.

      Glad you liked my ‘home style’! So when are you visiting? 🙂

  7. Beloo, your verandah takes my breath away! It took me back to a couple of decades ago, to my uncle’s house in Pune where one side of the house was bathed in sunshine and a sort of a portico that could be shut with glass windows when it rained or got chilly. What a joy to tend to a garden! What can I say? I am in love with your post. It reads like a meditation script. I am grateful to you for being part of our Gratitude Circle.! Hugs!

    1. Thank you, Vidya. We are indeed very lucky and grateful to have such a veranda, this green space that has an indoor-outdoor feel to it. And I am so happy that you could feel the meditative spirit of this post. That’s exactly how I felt when the words came out as I worked on the post. These pictures were taken over a period of weeks (the last one was actually from 9 or 10 years ago), but somehow as I was browsing through them they all seemed to come together to tell a story of sort. A story about gratitude. And then the words happened. I am sure you know what I mean 🙂

      Thank you so much for doing this monthly Gratitude Circle. I am beginning to use it as a practice to become more conscious and aware of many things and moments that would otherwise be missed.

  8. I love plants inside the house. Since I grew up in a home with plants in most corners, I cannot help but attach the feeling of comfort and love whenever I see decorative plants indoors. Beautiful gratitude filled post. The pictures are lovely.

    1. Thanks Rajlakshmi. I am so happy to read your comment. Some days I bring only green stuff for doing my ‘flower-less’ arrangements 🙂 There is something so comforting about having living plants/branches in our living spaces. Glad you enjoyed the post.

  9. Beloo, I love the greenery in your house. The tea time picture is my favorite, the plants in all your pictures look so fresh and healthy. Your love for nature is evident in all your snaps.

    1. Thank you, Sulekha for your kind words. I am not really the kind with a green thumb, but yes I do try to take care of the plants in my home. I have however lost many over the years, some because of my negligence or not knowing the right way to address a problem. So like everything this too has been a process of learning, some by trial and error, and some in other ways. Glad you liked the post and the pictures! And you are welcome to join us for tea anytime 🙂

    1. Haha! Maybe it is the camera on my phone that has the special “no dirt” feature 🙂 But I do try to keep things clean, to whatever extent possible though I have no interest in giving up other things I enjoy just for the sake of dusting! In any case dust always has a way to get in everywhere, so one can only try 🙂 Glad you liked the pictures, Ruchira.

Response? Reaction? Thought? Question? Criticism? Let me know.

