Inner View · Personal reflections · Reminders to self · Spiritual Significance of Flowers · Spirituality beyond Religion · Words of The Mother and Sri Aurobindo

Undo

This is the 300th post for this blog.

No celebratory or self-congratulatory words, no ‘looking back’ type of thing, no chalking out of something new for the next hundred. 

Only a reminder to un-do some things. Things that I carry within, things that become unwanted veils inside giving me a murky reflection of my many selves. Things that end up becoming burdens, whose weight I must let go if I have to un-wind.

This post is also about a feeling of gratitude for the inspiration to do a post about ‘un-doing.’ It is about a reminder, rather three reminders for myself as I walk my path through life and tend to my garden, inside and out. Inside out.

I.

Unburden…

…and remember to call.

 

“All sincere prayers are granted, but it may take some time to realise materially.”

“Sincere calls surely are heard and receive an answer.”

“It goes without saying that all bargaining spirit is an insincerity that takes away all value from the prayer.”

II.

Unwind…

…as the wind chimes OM.

 

“More than any other sound, this sound “AUM” gives rise to a feeling of peace, of serenity, of eternity.”

III.

Unveil…

…the beauty in simplicity.

 

“To express Harmony, of all things Simplicity is the best.”

 


Note: All photos taken at my garden and home. The Mother of Sri Aurobindo Ashram gave the Rain Lily flowers (seen in the first set of photos) the spiritual significance: Prayer. The last set of photographs feature some gifts from my little garden.

All quotes are from the Collected Works of the Mother.


Linking with ABC Wednesday, U: U is for Unburden, Unwind and Unveil.


Also linking up with Vidya Sury’s Gratitude Circle for May 2016.  Gratitude-Circle-Vidya-Sury-Final-e1453801581346

45 thoughts on “Undo

  1. That was beautiful Beloo. Congratulations on the 300th. I know what this space means to you; I know what it means to many, including me. What an empowering, fulfilling journey this blog has been! 300 posts ago, you did not connect with as many people as you have connected now! How amazing!

    I’m thinking of my own beginning as a blogger. Looking back at my own journey fills me with gratitude and humility.

    1. Thank you, Dagny. You are so right about this sense of gratitude and humility, indeed this little space has facilitated some wonderful friendships and connections. And of course, there has been very helpful learning about many things, but mostly about myself.

      Thank you for your constant encouragement and motivation, and most of all for your love and friendship. Hugs.

  2. Unburden, unwind and unveil. That has been my physical and spiritual theme for the week. Unburden from worry and need; unwind from stress and unveil a new me. Although, the stunning Bipasha Basu has been kicking my physical butt. (I love her for that). Warm wishes for the week ahead. xoxo

    1. Haha! I like that bit about Bipasha Basu 🙂 All the best and warm wishes to you as well for the week as you do all these things – unburden, unwind and unveil.

  3. I loved the way you under-celebrated your 300th post. That’s another U. Congrats! 🙂

    You have a beautiful home and a definite eye for beauty in simplicity. Your U’s are helpful reminders for a better self. Thank you.

  4. That is indeed a milestone, Beloo and only you could have marked it with such simple introspection and quotes. I particularly connected with the quotes on prayer. My sister keeps reminding me of them 🙂 This post also makes me feel grateful for finding you and your blog. My life has become enriched by both. Thank you, friend!

  5. This is a good way to celebrate an anniversary. “To express Harmony, of all things Simplicity is the best.” is so apt.
    Simple, good and blessed as usual.

  6. Congratulations on the 300th , Beloo and even if you don’t look back at the milestones, I think you’ve been doing a great job with the sustained reflections in this space. I love the ‘Unburden’ the most. Life is too worrisome for us to bear the burdens of all the world upon our shoulders.

    May you have many many more snippets of love and wisdom to share with us through the words of the Divine Mother and Sri Aurobindo.

    1. Thank you so much, Shailaja for your kind words of appreciation and good wishes. It has indeed been a fulfilling journey on many levels, learning and growing in many ways.

  7. Congratulations on the 300th. Being unassuming is not given to everyone (another ‘u’ word to you? 🙂 ) as witness my own chest-beating whenever I hit what I choose to call a ‘milestone’. But, then, that is what one has come to expect of you.

    1. Thanks, Suresh 🙂 In the interest of full disclosure, I must add that I have also been a bit lazy writer lately. Must be the heat because I am hardly lazy (wink, wink). So doing an unassuming kind of post seemed such a good idea on practical level too 😀

  8. I so agree with you, Beloo. It is so necessary that we de-clutter our minds, as we do our physical world; so important that we keep our life as simple as we can, so as to lead much fuller lives, realising our dreams and aspirations. I just remembered this beautiful line I heard in the movie. “It is so simple to be happy, but so difficult to be simple!” We really complicate things so much and thus end up feeling miserable. So, yes, simplicity is the best policy, right?

    1. Thank you, Shilpa for sharing your thoughts on the need for simplifying. I like that line from the movie. I think simplicity and sincerity are also deeply inter-connected. Simplicity also helps us lead more authentic and wholesome lives.

  9. Ahh the celebratory post is so like you 🙂 beautiful, thoughtful, with pictures that somehow always manage to show what serenity looks like. Brilliant!!
    Congratulations on hitting the milestone.

  10. Congratulations on your 300th post, each one has been so inspirational and informative. The pictures of the chime and the flowers are lovely, the little plant on the table brings the greenery inside beautifully 🙂

    1. Thank you, Sulekha. I am happy to hear that you find my posts inspirational and informative. I hope I will keep getting the inspiration to do better! Glad you liked the pictures. That chime is indeed a very special one, specially designed for an AUM like monotone sound.

  11. Congratulations on that milestone, Beloo. This post was in a way soothing and peaceful. I loved the introspection you shared with us. I have a list of undos of my own. 🙂 Your posts are always thought provoking and leave a reader richer. May you continue to do so.

  12. Wow, congratulations, Beloo! Your words are lyrical and your photos are beautiful. And I tell you, I always think my wind chimes say “om”! When we slow down, pause and notice, everything is significant, no matter how trivial.

    Hugs and thank you for joining the Gratitude Circle bloghop! Forgive me for the delay in dropping by. Hope to see you there again – linky will be live on June 30! 🙂

    1. Thank you, Vidya. I am happy you enjoyed the post, and the pictures. I am always happy to join the gratitude circle on your blog, I feel a lot of happy vibes there 🙂 Hopefully I will have something positive and happy for the next one too!

Response? Reaction? Thought? Question? Criticism? Let me know.

