Inner View · Reminders to self · Spirituality beyond Religion · Words of The Mother and Sri Aurobindo

Did I miss a birthday?

I almost missed my blog’s birthday. It was quite late in the evening that I remembered that my blog completed three years yesterday.

Not only that, I remembered this morning that earlier this month Matriwords our research blog also had its first birthday. 

How to mark this special occasion of two birthdays in a month? Well, simply by sharing some pictures from the little summer garden I am enjoying at the moment. This little place where spending even a few minutes in the morning brings a special joy and contentment.

 

 

 

Everything there seems to express a kind of delight in simply existing, regardless of the many mistakes I or my garden-help might make either by ignoring a little corner or plant there or by over-showering  our ignorant attention elsewhere. In my more self-aware moments, I know that it is the Mother Nature who somehow finds a way to even things out, create a new balance, something that feels like harmony.

But even after making all those mistakes in my little garden – planting wrong things that didn’t have much chance of survival or not planting the right things in the right spot at the right time or neglecting to take care of those that were almost crying out for attention or not getting rid of those invasive weeds and excessive undesirable growth in time – have I now learned how to harmonise my efforts with what the Mother Nature intends?

Honestly, I am not sure. But I guess we can always try. Sincerely. And make some more sincere effort in that direction of harmony. By becoming more conscious of why we do things we shouldn’t or don’t do certain things we should. Especially, in our little gardens within. 

Today, on this special day of Ram Navami as I begin the year 4 of blogging here, I remind myself of one important reason why I continue with this work of writing and blogging. Both here and at Matriwords.

Joy.

“It is only effort, in whatever domain it may be – material effort, moral effort, intellectual effort – which creates in the being certain vibrations which enable you to get connected with universal vibrations; and it is this which gives joy. It is effort which pulls you out of inertia; it is effort which makes you receptive to the universal forces. And the one thing above all which spontaneously gives joy, even to those who do not practise yoga, who have no spiritual aspiration, who lead quite an ordinary life, is the exchange of forces with universal forces.

“It is quite certain that, whatever you do, even the most material work, like sweeping a room or cooking, if you make the necessary effort to do this work to the maximum of your ability, you will feel joy, even if what you do is against your nature. When you want to realise something, you make quite spontaneously the necessary effort; this concentrates your energies on the thing to be realised and that gives a meaning to your life. This compels you to a sort of organisation of yourself, a sort of concentration of your energies, because it is this that you wish to do and not fifty other things that contradict it. And it is in this concentration, this intensity of the will, that lies the origin of Joy. This gives you the power to receive energies in exchange for those you spend.”

Collected Works of the Mother, Vol. 4, pp. 32-33

24 thoughts on “Did I miss a birthday?

  1. Happy birthday to your blog and may you celebrate many many manyyyyyyyyy birthdays more..

    That is a beautiful garden wowowow… mine is in chaos at moment..and that lilly looks awesome.. my favorites. .

    1. Thank you Bikram for your kind wishes. And about the garden, well as the wise say, only out of chaos will the order come. So I am sure in time your garden will also find its own order and harmony 🙂 But I agree, it can be a lot of work. Happy you liked the lily, it blooms very rarely for some reason, so had to take a picture!

  2. Happy 3rd to your blog! It’s a milestone and I wish you more writing and joys. You are right about the balance – something somewhere weeds out what’s unnecessary and beings the necessary in.

  3. Congrats Beloo! Great achievement indeed 🙂 Wishing you many more milestones ahead!
    Lovely garden. Relevant quote of the Mother.

  4. Hope we have many many more years of your joyful blogging both here and Matriwords, each a delight to read. The garden as well as your blogs are beautiful and organised no doubt due to your ‘…..becoming more conscious of why we do things we shouldn’t or don’t do certain things we should. Especially, in our little gardens within.’ I am hoping to become a good gardener of the garden within too by imbibing the teachings here and in MAtriwords!

    1. Oh I wish I could say with this surity that it is due to my becoming conscious 🙂 But I really appreciate and thank you for your motivation. I guess we all are trying to walk on that path in our own ways and helping one another on the way.
      Thank you for your good wishes. Love and hugs.

Response? Reaction? Thought? Question? Criticism? Let me know.