Beauty · Personal reflections · Reminders to self

Beautiful Little Happy Things

What do we do when some big stuff in life doesn’t go the way we would have liked it to go? Of course, it is the dark ignorance we carry and in which we are steeped that makes us assume that we somehow have this right to expect that things in life and world would go the way we want them to go! 

So what do we do when things go haywire, or at least don’t go the way we had expected them to go? We cry. We shout. We agitate. We yell. We cry some more. Why, why, o why? Why is the world so harsh on me? Why is the world so unfair? Why can’t I get my own way?

What else do we do? We become sad. We become gloomy. We become depressed. We become bitter. 

Or we start blaming circumstances, life, everyone. Even ourselves. Or some or all of them in any combination. 

Basically we become unhappy. 

Unhappiness weakens the strength and lays one more open to the causes of unhappiness. (Sri Aurobindo, Letters on Yoga, CWSA, Vol. 31, p. 279)

It is then that we must remember to find happiness in small things. Yes, there are many more profound ways to regain our inner balance, our inner poise. And we must work with those, as sincerely as we can. 

But there is also this simple way of becoming open to and observant of happy beauty in little things. No, I am not speaking of ‘reliving’ happy memories or ‘buying’ happiness from malls  – though for some people that can work too.  It may be argued that all such ways and means to find little happiness could only have temporary result, but then isn’t happiness itself transitory in some sense? And yet we continue to seek happiness because perhaps in a thickly veiled way it is representative of our seeking for a deeper, inner, more lasting Ananda, Bliss and Joy. 

In any case, today I am speaking of finding moments of happiness in  small beautiful things (literally) around us, in our living spaces. These may be anything. As long as we feel happy seeing them, I mean really ‘seeing’ them in a way that reveals to us their beauty, their happy state of existence. 

The other day, these are the objects that gave me this experience of observing happy little things around me. And today I take the opportunity to share them here. 

 

p1030129
Happy #1
p1030131
Happy #2

 

There is a consciousness in each physical thing with which one can communicate. Everything has an individuality of a certain kind, houses, cars, furniture etc. The ancient peoples knew that and so they saw a spirit or “genius” in every physical thing. (Sri Aurobindo, Letters on Yoga, CWSA, Vol. 29, p. 288)

 

p1030132
Happy #3

So how or why did these beautiful little things made me happy that day? Well, does the ‘how’ or ‘why’ really matter? What matters most is to recall that I was grateful for that little dose of happiness and cheerfulness.

And what kind of happiness do I feel now writing about that experience? A sense of happiness that comes with a feeling of gratitude. Gratitude for that experience, for being around these beautiful little things of happiness, for once again remembering that happiness can sometimes indeed literally be found in little things around us. If only we know how to see them. And more importantly, if we know how to experience through them some moments of happy beauty.

Such moments, small though they may be, help us walk cheerfully toward a greater self-control of our emotional reactions, help us slowly prepare for the vicissitudes of life.

One can be quiet, happy, cheerful without being all that in a light or shallow way—and the happiness need not bring any vital reaction. All that you need to do is to be observant and vigilant,—watchful so that you may not give assent to wrong movements or the return of the old feelings, darkness, confusion, etc. If you remain vigilant, then with the increase of the Force upholding you, a power of self-control will come, a power to see and reject the wrong turn or the wrong reaction when it comes. (Sri Aurobindo, Letters on Yoga, CWSA, Vol. 31, p. 279)  

 


Linking with ABC Wednesday, L: L is for Little


Linking up with Vidya Sury’s Gratitude Circle: September 2016Gratitude-Circle-Vidya-Sury-Final-e1453801581346

56 thoughts on “Beautiful Little Happy Things

  1. Just two days ago I started off a young friend of mine on sending me her daily ‘Gratitude List’. She is to write 3 things (only) for which she is grateful… for the next 15 days. For sure, it will get her attention away from whats not working to what is. And that’s the first thing to do when you are recovering from a bout of blues.

    1. Dagny, thanks for sharing this here. It gives me an idea, I am sure you know what I mean 🙂 Indeed, we so often forget to focus on all that is working for us, all that is going well for us…and to consciously recall that and feel grateful for that can be immensely helpful in regaining a sort of inner centering.

      1. I totally know what you mean. Happy to have been of help.

        I always annoyed when people would tell a sad/ depressed person that they should ‘think positive’. It always sounded absolutely idiotic advice to me. If a person was ABLE to think positive, they wouldn’t get negative in the first place, would they?

        Also, while people grandiosely exhort you to be positive, they never tell you how to move from negative/ depressed to positive. After years of pondering over this, I’ve come to the conclusion that a deliberate, daily practice of gratitude is the only way to get someone to move away from negativity. I began recommending it after I tried it myself and it worked for me.

  2. When we are down and out like you rightly mentioned, a plethora of small miniscule things do make us come out of the abyss and get us back on track! For me personally, nature does wonders and it is a therapy for the unhappy soul and music, yes, soothes me back to rythm! Lovely post beloo and this is one of the other things that make me happy:)

    1. Yes, Sunita, to be in nature can certainly do wonders for regaining a calmer and centered poise. And I agree about music too. Thanks for sharing what works for you, appreciate it very much. And I am happy the post made you happy 🙂

  3. Gratitude is a powerful thing of one practice regularly. I believe that accepting lot of things around that bother us, accepting the fact that there is a certain way for the things to exist helps a great deal in making peace with oneself and happiness doesn’t sound so distant then.

    It is a very well articulated article Beloo Ma’am!

    Cheers
    Geets

  4. Loved, loved this post. And the quotes made me feel even more joyful. Thanks for this lovely reminder about finding happiness in small things around us and feel gratitude.

  5. The title of the post itself is so happy, one just has to drop by and read. I absolutely loved it Beloo. Life rarely goes according to plan and big celebrations may not be too frequent. However it does offer plenty of small simple pleasures. Enjoying them is the best piece of advice ever.

  6. Now a days, I am finding happiness in my little crafty things. We tend to forget that happiness is transient. rest is the journey to it. But we wish to make that journey happier too. A nice post on a day when I cannot call the situations happy.

    1. And you are very good at those crafty things, Upasna! I am happy that you are finding happiness in creating such beautiful things. Thanks for stopping by, and I am glad that you enjoyed this post.

  7. Beloo, this is precisely my practice of staying in a serene state of mind. Not that I don’t freak out, but the return to calmness is easy. I love how, when we pause, everything around us can be a beautiful sight/experience. Including that ant which just won’t give up transporting that tiny grain of sugar to its destination, who knows where that is. Yet it keeps dragging it patiently, stopping to rest and circle its precious cargo, and moving on. What joy observing that journey.

    The quotes are beautiful. As are the photos you shared. Your post is so soothing, like a meditation. Thank you so much for joining me, Beloo.

    1. Thank you, Vidya! I am so happy to read your lovely comment. Am picturing that ant 🙂 And I am humbled to hear that the post reads like a meditation. Thank you! Hugs.

  8. Thank you for your timely reminder. Life can be overwhelming at times, but consciously taking pleasure in the little things we love can change a mindset.

  9. I loved the pictures and the sweet title of your post, Beloo.
    Coming over to gratitude, you know I have been compiling my monthly lists for over 15 months. These months have made me believe in the fact that small things to be happy about surround us every single day. We keep waiting for those big moments in life and remain happy. To me, gratitude is finding happiness.
    Loved your post!

    1. Thanks Parul for your lovely comment! Yes, I enjoy reading your monthly gratitude lists 🙂 You are so right, the moment we begin to consciously feel a sense of gratitude for all those blessings we have in life we begin to feel happy, the burdens of life slowly begin to disappear.

  10. Happiness is truly in the little things in life. I always loved the way Ruskin Bond says it.. It’s like a butterfly, which when pursued, is always beyond our grasp, but which, if you will sit down quietly, may alight upon you. Thanks for sharing the beautiful pictures. I too love chimes.

    1. That’s a beautiful image there with the butterfly 🙂 Thank you for sharing this! And yes it definitely captures the spirit I am trying to express through this post. And good to know that you also enjoy windchimes. I have several kinds in my home! Wishing you a happy and peaceful Diwali!

Response? Reaction? Thought? Question? Criticism? Let me know.

